Book Reviews

We Were On A Break by Lindsey Kelk


untitled-design-230813401We Were On A Break by Lindsey Kelk

Genre: Contemporary Fiction, New Adult, RomCom

Pages: 416

Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Book Despository

Rating: ★★★★

Goodreads Summary: Is it a break? Or is it a blip? ‘You’ve just had a holiday,’ I pointed out, trying not to yawn. ‘Wasn’t that enough of a break?’ ‘I don’t mean that kind of break.’ There’s nothing worse than the last day of holiday. Oh wait, there is. When what should have been a proposal turns into a break, Liv and Adam find themselves on opposite sides of the life they had mapped out. Friends and family all think they’re crazy; Liv throws herself into work – animals are so much simpler than humans – and Adam tries to get himself out of the hole he’s dug. But as the short break becomes a chasm, can they find a way back to each other? Most importantly, do they want to?

My Review

As a massive fan of Lindsey Kelk’s writing I jumped at the chance to meet her, get a signed copy of her new book and start on it straight away.

Despite not being a Friends fan I still loved the title an the concept of this novel. The story follows a couple who are going through that period of ‘are we all in or are we out’ which many couples experience after being together awhile.

Unlike Lindsey’s other novels this book isn’t as glamorous – instead of jet setting off to interview celebrities in I Heart Hollywood we re elbow deep in cow dodo (the main character is a vet). But for me this was one of Lindsey’s more realistic plots.

The characters for me weren’t too outrageous, but believable. You could dislike them, relate to them and they reminded me a lot of people I know. The families in the novel as well were very true and you could picture them perfectly.

As somebody who grew up in a town very much like the village Liv and Adam live in I 100% related to how it played a part in the plot. Everyone knows your business and even if you are on a break you still find out everything that is going on with your other half because villages are full of gossips.

What I loved about this novel was that for the first time we got two perspectives, Liv and Adam. So instead of wondering what the other person in question was thinking we got it – for this plot I thought it worked perfectly. I does sadden me though that this is only a standalone.

I loved the whole pot of this novel but at times it did feel quite slow and I did want to punch some of the characters for how they were acting. I gave it four and not five stars because for some reason it felt like there was something missing, even though I didn’t dislike the novel.

I would definitely recommend any of Lindsey’s books to people wanting to venture away from Young Adut and into contemporary fiction.

If you are looking for a laugh and a realistic romance then this is the book for you!

Your thoughts

Have you read We Were On A Break – what did you think?

What is your favourite Lindsey Kelk novel?

Let me know in the comments.

 

Leave a Reply

