Features · Netgalley · Sunday Showcase

Sunday Showcase: Netgalley


bookswithems-1

Sunday Showcase is a biweekly feature where I showcase anything bookish, it could be an underrated book, my favourite book subscription boxes, a book related gift idea or even another book blogger.

This week I wanted to share with you a website that is perfect for bookworm and book bloggers everywhere.

Netgalley is an online directory where publishers give reviews the opportunity to read novels in advance of the publication date in exchange for a review.

The reason I wanted to talk about Netgalley is because it was this website that helped get me started as a book blogger. It enables book reviews who may not have many followers or views on their website the chance to read new novels for free.

Books can be really expense and most publishers don’t send physical advance reader copies to bloggers unless they meet their set criteria which usually includes a large following. Netgalley gives bloggers who are just starting out a higher chance or receiving their chosen book.

The only down side to Netgalley is that most of the books come as an Ebook therefore you have to have an ereader or an app in order to review them. Also most of the books are uncorrected proof copies and sometimes the formatting can make it hard to read them – but at the end of the day you are getting a free book before anybody else.

I would highly recommend Netgalley for any book blogger whether you are just starting out or have a large following already!

Do you use Netgalley? What do you like and dislike about it? 

11 thoughts on “Sunday Showcase: Netgalley

  1. I’ve used netgalley in the past, but I find it a little bit stressful having to read so many books by a particular date. It takes time out of reading the books I already have, so I tend not to get too many arcs 🙂

    Like

  2. I haven’t used Netgalley all that much but I did get to read a really amazing ARC through it! It’s so easy to get in over your head with eARCs. I basically never go on the website and that’s really the only reason I’ve been able to control myself.

    Like

  3. I like Netgalley too! What I don’t like I guess that if I request a lot of books my % of reviewed books drops…guess it’s more for people who read one book at a time.

    Like

    1. Yeah I agree. My % was really low because I requested books and the formatting was so bad I couldn’t read them. But if you just send a * rating and say you couldn’t finish it because it was bad or because of formatting it counts as a review

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I found out about Netgalley just a few days after starting blogging and honestly, I love it! I usually only get large amounts of books on my birthday (march) and christmas, and I read them really fast, and then I have nothing more to read, and although I use the library, is way more faster to get an ebook from netgalley 🙂 And I’ve already read pretty good books from there 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

