Book Reviews

The Crown by Kiera Cass


Successful People

downloadThe Crown by Kiera Cass (The Selection #5)

Genre: Young Adult

Pages: 269

Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Rating: ★★★★☆

Goodreads summary: *spoilers for books #1-#3*

In The Heir, a new era dawned in the world of The Selection. Twenty years have passed since America Singer and Prince Maxon fell in love, and their daughter is the first princess to hold a Selection of her own.

Eadlyn didn’t think she would find a real partner among the Selection’s thirty-five suitors, let alone true love. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and now Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more difficult—and more important—than she ever expected.

My Review

The final cheesy book to a cheesey young adult series. There is no doubt that this series is just cringeworthy at times but it is a guilty pleasure read for a lot of people including myself.

Something I struggled with at first with this book was that it was so long between reading The Heir and then The Crown that I had forgotten who everybody was! But after a few chapters it got easier.

The characters in this book were a bit of a disappointment. There was nobody with anything bad to say or fire in their belly. Everyone was very much in love and happy and just wanted to be overly nice, especially The Elite. It just got a bit boring if I’m honest. I like a good argument in a book.

The plot focused more on Eadlyn and her duties as a princess than actually finding a husband, which I’m sure the whole book was meant to be about. It was nice to get a glimpse of her other life and duties but the whole selection just got lost along the way.

There were a few surprises which I had guessed, but also some which I didn’t see coming. There was one surprise I thought was pointless mainly because I didn’t think it was something that added to the story at all, it was almost a filler towards the end.

The ending as well was highly predictable and it was exactly what you thought was going to happen. But at the same time I didn’t mind this because it was the right way to end the series.

Compared to the first three books – the main series- I don’t think The Heir and The Crown stand up to it. I think that it should have been left with The One being the last book. It was nice to have to story kept alive but I think it just ruined it for me. It also ruined some old characters for me as well who I felt lost who they were as they got older which was disappointing.

Despite all the things I didn’t like about this novel I did enjoy the diverse characters in the Elite, the story of Hale and especially Henry and Erik’s story. It was a good read and I didn’t hate it. It was definitely the right way to finish off the series but I don’t think it compares to the first three books.

Have you read any of The Selection books? Which one was your favourite? 

Check out my reviews for the other books in the series.

2 thoughts on “The Crown by Kiera Cass

  1. I haven’t read this one yet, because I read a major spoiler on goodreads, where the person didn’t point that spoilers are to follow and am kind of disappointed and have a hard time to get myself to read the last book. 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

