Book Reviews

The Siren by Kiera Cass


AUDIOBOOK REVIEW

25944385

The Siren by Kiera Cass

Genre: Young Adult

Pages: 336

Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Rating: ★★★☆☆

Goodreads summary: “You must never do anything that might expose our secret. This means that, in general, you cannot form close bonds with humans. You can speak to us, and you can always commune with the Ocean, but you are deadly to humans. You are, essentially, a weapon. A very beautiful weapon. I won’t lie to you, it can be a lonely existence, but once you are done, you get to live. All you have to give, for now, is obedience and time…”

The same speech has been given hundreds of times to hundreds of beautiful girls who enter the sisterhood of sirens. Kahlen has lived by these rules for years now, patiently waiting for the life she can call her own. But when Akinli, a human, enters her world, she can’t bring herself to live by the rules anymore. Suddenly the life she’s been waiting for doesn’t seem nearly as important as the one she’s living now.

My Review

Kiera Cass’s work is like Marmite, either you love it or you hate it and I loved her Selection series so much! But The Siren was something I wasn’t too keen on.

The story itself follows a girl who become a Siren but soon falls for a mere mortal which is forbidden by the ocean. It follows her struggles being away from him and her journey to finding her true self.

The whole concept of this book excited me as I have never read a novel based around Sirens let alone mythical creatures of the sea, so this was new teratory for me. But despite my excitement this book was just not for me at all.

At first it was promising but as I got further and further into the book I found the main character Kahlen to be whinny and the other characters and the Ocean was just as annoying. There were however, parts of the novel I really enjoyed as it showed different views towards death and moving on but the majority of the time I was wishing it was over.

In the past I have had mixed feelings about audiobooks and for me the audiobook for The Siren just was not my cup of tea. The narrator of this audiobook had a horrible voice. I don’t normally mind narrators putting on different voices for different characters but with this you could tell that it was a woman narrating the male speech and for me that ruined it. Her voice just didn’t fit the story in my opinion which is what brought it down so much for me. However I still gave this book three stars because a part of me feels that I would have enjoyed it more if I had read it and not listened to the audiobook.

Have you read The Siren? What are your thoughts on it? Did you prefer it to the Selection series?

I listened to this book using Audible, Amazon’s audiobook service. You can get a free audiobook and a one month free trial if you are a new user.

 

Leave a Reply

