Book Reviews

Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell


REVIEW

Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

3 stars

A lovely short story, perfect for Star Wars fans!

Goodreads:  If you broke Elena’s heart, Star Wars would spill out. So when she decides to queue outside her local cinema to see the new movie, she’s expecting a celebration with crowds of people who love Han, Luke and Leia just as much as she does. What she’s not expecting is to be last in a line of only three people; to have to pee into a collectible Star Wars soda cup behind a dumpster or to meet that unlikely someone who just might truly understand the way she feels.

Only £1 for World Book Day | Amazon


As somebody who has never seen Star Wars I found this short story a lot more fun than I thought I would. Rainbow Rowell is one of my favourite authors and so when I heard she was releasing a mini novel for £1 I couldn’t resist!

The story itself is written very well where it doesn’t leave you with questions about what happens after the end, which tends to be the case with most short stories for myself. The plot is split into the days in which Elena is waiting in line for the movie. Although the book is only 50 pages long I really did feel that a lot took place in that short period of time – even if they were just sat in a line outside a cinema.

Despite really enjoying Rainbow Rowell’s writing and the concept of this novel I only gave it three stars. This is because I felt you had to understand Star Wars or at least have seen it to be really amerced in the story and unfortunately I am apart of the small fraction of people in the world who have never cared for the series.

But I also gave it three stars because I felt the begging was a bit slow and things could have picked up a bit sooner. Especially as this is a short story and therefore we need to get to the main event s quick as possible.

Overall though this is still a great little novel and perfect for those who love Star Wars!

Have you read this short story? What were your thoughts?

5 thoughts on “Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

    1. I liked the ending in terms of them going to watch it again but the part before that did annoy me a bit. I think because I have never watched star wars and it doesn’t interest me it just put me off a bit from the start.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

