Book Reviews · Netgalley

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin


27433569Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin (Wolf by Wolf #1)

5 stars

An amazing adventure with a unique plot!

Goodreads: Germania, 1956. Over ten years since the Nazis won the war. 18-year-old Yael is part of the resistance, and she has just one mission: to kill Hitler.

But first she’s got to get close enough to him to do it.

Experimented on during her time at Auschwitz, Yael has the unique ability to change her appearance at will. The only part of her which always remains are the five tattooed wolves on her arm; one for each of the people she’s lost. Using her abilities, she must transform into Adele Wolfe, Germany’s most famous female rider and winner of the legendary Axis Tour; an epic long distance motorcycle race from Berlin to Tokyo, where only the strongest (and wiliest) riders survive. If she can win this, she will be able to get close enough to kill the Fuhrer and change history forever.

But with other riders sabotaging her chances at every turn, Yael’s mission won’t be easy. . .

Book Depository | Amazon


I was a history nerd at school and learning about Nazi Germany always seemed to fascinate me. No wonder this book was so amazing in my mind.

This is the first young adult novel I have ever read to be set in a world where Germany won WWII. It is a brand new, unique concept that I really found intriguing, especially to see how Graudin thought the world would have turned out under the rein of Hitler.

What i also enjoyed massively about this book was the characters, particularly Yael. The plot sees her having to live a double life – kind of- and this was really fascinating to read about, especially when we were in the same position as her, not knowing much about the girl she has to impersonate.

The flash backs into Yael’s past were also weaved in very well in my opinion. They were scattered throughout the book and flowed perfectly from the present day to the past. I usually hate back stories within novels but this for me was done perfectly.

At first I was sceptical about the issue of a motorcycle race in this book as I was scared we would be bombarded with jargon all about bikes. Luckily for us it was a lot more laid back and it actually made me find out that I really like race aspects in novels.

There were no real downsides to this book for me, despite it taking me a while to get through. I don’t think you have to be a history nerd to enjoy this novel, but I think history nerds will enjoy it even more.

I am very excited to see where the story carries on!

Have you read Wolf by Wolf? What did you think?

 

2 thoughts on “Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

  1. Glad you enjoyed this! I’m the same about being a history nerd (even though I was rubbish in exams, I loved learning about it, still do) so like you, this was a very interesting read. I love how it’s sort of an alternate history and what could’ve happened if Hitler won, how awful it would’ve been!

    Like

Leave a Reply

