Discussion

Discussion: Re-reading Books


social media e-course

The discussion of rereading books and books people want to reread this year has come about on channels such as BookTube as well as on other book blogs. But when it comes to re-reading books I am in two minds.

I have a big pile of books that I haven’t read yet, granted the numbers aren’t in the hundreds but I know that it will still take me a long time to get through them all. Plus it doesn’t help that I keep buying more books.

As much as I understand that by rereading a book you might notice things you didn’t before and change your opinion on the book, or even learn something new, I have always been very hesitant to reread a book.

The only book I have ever ‘reread’ was To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. This wasn’t even a full reread as I only ever read half of it at school (even though we were meant to have read it multiple times) so after  remarkably still getting an A in my exam I decided to read the whole thing properly. Meaning I reread the first half of the book but the last half was all new to me.

I have some books that I loved and want to reread because I cannot remember all of the details that made me fall in love with it in the first place. But I look at my bookshelf and realise that by rereading a book I am wasting time that could be spend on an entirely new book.

It is a guilt that harbours itself inside me as I keep thinking that I am neglecting my new books to reread older ones. – Yes I know books don’t have feelings but the guilt is still there-

But there is also the fear that I will reread the book that I once loved and start finding flaws because I am looking closer this time. Then that book may no be my favourite anymore.

I have decided that I will reread some book this year but only once I feel happy with my TBR pile and when I have more free time to dedicate to reading more books than I usually do.  But these books will be once that I am very certain will still be favourites once I have read the again.

Do you reread books or do you feel guilty like I do?

 

16 thoughts on “Discussion: Re-reading Books

  1. I get where you are coming from. I have so many books on my TBR and so many books that I own but haven’t read yet, that re-reading books just doesn’t seem like it should be a priority. I’d like to think that if I have a burning desire to re-read something, then I will. Having said that, off the top of my head, there are three books I can think of that I would like to re-read soon that I’ve been putting off so that I can read books I haven’t read before…

    Like

  2. I tweeted something like this earlier haha! I don’t usually reread books because I tend to have new ones that I want to read more, but for some reason lately there’s been four books I REALLY want to reread – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, A Darker Shade of Magic, The Book Thief and Queen of Shadows. I’m rereading ADSOM after I finish the book I’m currently reading because the next book is out next month, so that gives me a push towards rereading. I don’t know when I’ll get round to rereading the others though, because like you said, I have so many other books on my TBR so I feel like I need to get to them first… (well THAT was quite a rant haha sorry!)

    Like

  3. I understand your points completely, but I always end up rereading the Harry Potter series at least once a year. I think if the book is truly a favourite you won’t find faults or they won’t bother you that much. You shouldn’t be scared about dropping a favourite as it means space for another great book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

