Book Reviews

Ms Marvel Volume 2 by Wilson & Alphona


IMG_2480Ms Marvel, Volume 2. Generation Why by Wilson & Alphona

3 stars

Another beautiful graphic novel but too abrupt for my liking.

Goodreads: Who is the Inventor, and what does he want with the all-new Ms. Marvel and all her friends? Maybe Wolverine can help! If Kamala can stop fan-girling out about meeting her favorite super hero, that is. Then, Kamala crosses paths with Inhumanity — by meeting the royal dog, Lockjaw! But why is Lockjaw really with Kamala? As Ms. Marvel discovers more about her past, the Inventor continues to threaten her future. Kamala bands together with some unlikely heroes to stop the maniacal villain before he does real damage, but has she taken on more than she can handle? And how much longer can Ms. Marvel’s life take over Kamala Khan’s? Kamala Khan continues to prove why she’s the best (and most adorable) new super hero there is!

Collecting Ms. Marvel(2014) #6-11.

Book Depository Amazon


This is the my third graphic novel and sadly it was a slight disappointment. Ms Marvel volume 1 was my first ever graphic novel and it sparked my love for the comics. I had high hopes for this next instalment but it let me down.

I understand that graphic novels are usually short and therefore have to fit a lot into a short amount of pages, but for me the action was far to rushed and almost forced. From the get go we were thrown in and I felt the story itself was too pushed. it was all action and no background. What I loved the most in the first volume was Kamala’s interaction with her friends and family whilst trying to hide her superhero powers. But we rarely see the friends and family in this volume. Instead we get different superheroes such as Captain America and Wolverine.

I know that a lot of superheroes are featured in different comics other than their own but I was not expecting Wolverine to just randomly pop up and for me I felt this could have been left until volume three or four. We are still getting to know Kamala and I felt she became overshadowed by the surprise heroes.

IMG_2478 IMG_2479

However I cannot argue against the artwork. It is beautiful and the colour changes in this volume were even better than last time. There were a few scenes I found hard to follow but as a newbie in the graphic novel world that can be expected. The artwork did not disappoint at all.

Overall it was the fast paced forced action scenes that let this book down and hence why I am giving in 3 stars but I will be continuing on with the series.

Checkout my review of Ms Marvel Volume 1 here.

What are your thoughts on the Ms Marvel graphic novel series?

Leave a Reply

