Book Reviews · Netgalley

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick


12294652

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

4 stars

Goodreads: The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything.

As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkwardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase’s family embraces Samantha – even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha’s world. She’s suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

Book DepositoryAmazon


 At first I didn’t know what to think of this book. I thought it would just be a love story but it’s not. This is a story about family.

The main plot to this story is quite slow and doesn’t really pick up until two thirds in. But for me I liked this as it meant we were given more time to really get to know each character, their habits and their personality before the plot twist kicks in.

The characters were the best part about this novel for me. Huntley Fitzpatrick was able to make me feel apart of the Garrett family from the first time we stepped inside their house. In most novels I find that I don’t think much about the side characters but all of the children in the Garrett family had their own individual quirk or storyline that made this connection easier.

Our main character Samantha was one I wasn’t sure about at first. She is 17 but very naive for her age and I felt, once again with young adult fiction, it wasn’t very realistic. She acted like a shy girl who had never been kissed even though she had had previous boyfriends. I also felt some of the romance scenes were a bit awkward. However this was only a small downside to the novel.

For me this novel is very sow paces and then towards the end it speeds up before slowing back down again. I found that a lot of time was wasted on scenes that didn’t add anything to the plot and that the ending was dragged out, and a conclusion to the issue could have been found much faster.

However I wasn’t truly disappointed by this novel in the end and I did appreciate the diversity of family life shown throughout this book.

Have you read My Life Next Door? What did you think?

One thought on “My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Leave a Reply

