Bookmas 2015 · Features · Guest Posts

Guest Post: A Frolic Through Fiction’s Top 5 Books of 2015


Guest Post

ede40fc5-993e-4dc1-b8ac-9dcf5abe1db9Hello! I’m Ashleigh from A frolic through fiction, writing a guest post here at Books With Ems. I’ve had my book blog for a few months now and I’m absolutely loving blogging, so when Emmi asked me to write a guest post for her blog too, I wasn’t going to say “no” in a hurry.

After brainstorming a few ideas, I decided to write “My Top 5 Books of 2015” (a suggestion from Emmi), since it’s simple, and probably one of the easiest ways for you to get to know me more. All of the books mentioned below have been rated 5/5 stars from me this year. So without rambling on any more in this awkward thing called an introduction, let’s do this!

 

Queen of ShadowsQueen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas

The Throne of Glass series is one of my favourite book series ever. So obviously Queen of Shadows – the 4th book in the series – was going to be on this list somewhere. I know this book has quite a love/hate thing going for it right now with the fans, since the story has changed so much from the 1st book, but I personally adored it. Sarah J Maas quickly became one of my favourite authors, since I love every single book she’s written so far.

So to sum up this series so far without giving any spoilers…It’s an epic fantasy, with amazingly bad-ass characters and a highly complex but addictive storyline.

The Mime OrderThe Mime Order by Samantha Shannon

Once again this is one of my favourite series. This is the 2nd book in The Bone Season series, which I believe is eventually going to be a seven book series. I finished the 1st book at the end of December 2014, which is why I’m having to show the 2nd book instead of the 1st.

Anyway, this is one of those series that is really difficult to sort into a genre. I would say it’s fantasy, since it’s about a world where being Clairvoyant is against the law, even though you can’t help it. However, bookshops file it under both SciFi and Dystopia. Either way, this series so far is amazing and already such an interesting story, I can’t wait for the next book to be released!

The Dead HouseThe Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich

This book is a really interesting one. It tells the story of what happened at Elmbridge School twenty-five years ago, when three people were killed and Carly Johnson disappeared. Part psychological thriller, part urban legend, this is a book formatted in a variety of ways. The story is told through diary entries, camera footage, psychiatric reports and interviews, as well as numerous other ways.

This book really was a surprise for me. I’d never heard of it before, but when I saw the formatting I just needed it. And despite it being quite a thick book, I sped through this in 2 days, not wanting to stop once I was hooked. Full of mystery with an overshadowing dark theme, while reading this book you have to try and decide whether you believe the scientific side of the story,or the paranormal.

The Shadow of the WindThe Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Set in Barcelona just after the war, this is a historical fiction novel with a fantasy feel to it. A boy is taken to the Cemetery of Forgotten Books and is told to choose just one book, which he will own and protect forever, so that it is not forgotten. Once he chooses the book, he then begins his own sort of investigation into the author, but strange things begins to happen as he finds out more.

This is such an intriguing story, and I remember becoming hooked almost immediately. it’s definitely one of those books that made me want to read more books by this author.

Hollow CityHollow City by Ransom Riggs

This is the 2nd book in the Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children trilogy. In the first book, Jacob discover the home of peculiar children, and the story of adventure and danger starts from there. This is a quirky story carrying on from the 1st book, carrying on with the dark historical theme and interwoven photographs that make no sense until you read how they’re added in the story.

I just love this series because of how unique the story is. I’ve never read anything like it. And now that they are being adapted into movies directed by Tim Burton, I encourage people even more to go and start this series!


So those are my top 5 books of 2015! It was quite difficult to choose just five, since there were a few more books I rated 5 stars too, and a lot that were a close 4.5/5.

I have spoiler free reviews for Queen of Shadows, The Mime Order and The Dead House over on my blog, so if you’re interested in those books you can check out my reviews for more.

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it!

Remember to go check out Asheligh’s blog, Twitter and Goodreads.

3 thoughts on “Guest Post: A Frolic Through Fiction’s Top 5 Books of 2015

Leave a Reply

