Book Reviews

Simon Vs The Homo Sapien’s Agenda


4

Title:  Simon vs.The Homo Sapien’s Agenda

Author: Becky Albertalli

My Rating: ***

Goodreads: Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

Buy on Amazon


This book has been called the love child of John Green and Rainbow Rowell and to be honest I would say that is a big understatement.

The novel is unique but not something I found hooking me and making me turn pages on the edge of my seat. It has it’s funny moments which you can relate to John Green novels but it is no way near as good in my opinion.

There are romantic moments and times that will make you smile and warm your heart. Especially the big reveal. Personally I guessed correct to who Blue was and it was rather obvious.

Overall there is not much I can say about this books as it was pretty much average in my eyes. There was way too much hype around this novel which gave me high expectations only to be let down.

It is just another young adult book for me. Nothing special but not bad.

Have you read it yet? Let me know what you thought in the comments below.book sign off

 

3 thoughts on “Simon Vs The Homo Sapien’s Agenda

  1. I loved it’s nonchalant approach to coming out. The author did great in the aspect of really getting the feelings across and the anguish in some parts.

    Like

  2. I do agree that it was overhyped, but I disagree where you thought it was ordinary. Actually, I think it was ordinary, but that’s what made me love it! I’m a complete fantasy nerd, so it’s hard to find a book that accurately portrays nowadays high school environment and LGBT+ people but is still entertaining, and that was what I liked about it. I also liked the portrayal of Simon as a gay character. The book wasn’t the best, but it definitely wasn’t awful, and it was super cute 😂😊
    My review: https://bookzillansociety.wordpress.com/2016/07/08/simon-vs-the-homo-sapiens-agenda-generally-being-the-cutest-novel-of-ever/
    💝💜

    Like

Leave a Reply

