Book Reviews

Geek Drama (A Geek Girl Novella) by Holly Smale


24940628

Title: Geek Girl, Geek Drama

Author: Holly Smale

My Rating: *****

Goodreads: “My name is Harriet Manners and I am a geek.”

Harriet Manners knows that the hottest observed place on earth is Furnace Creek in Death Valley. She knows that dolphins shed the top layer of their skin every two hours. And she knows just how badly auditions can go, especially when you’re a model. But she has no idea what to do when her arch-nemesis decides the school play is the perfect opportunity to humiliate her…

Can GEEK GIRL survive the bright lights of the stage?

Buy on Amazon – £1 paperback and 59p kindle!


I have never read a novella before as I never saw how you could take a series that usually consists of 300-500 pages and produce a short story to fit in with them and not leave the reader unsatisfied with the detail.

But wow I was wrong. Reading Geek Drama was such a good way to start off my novella experience.

Geek Drama is set in between books one and two so it was strange to go back a bit after reading book four earlier in the week.

What I loved about this book was that it had everything you would want from a normal Geek Girl books, a bit of modelling talk, a nit of Nick, a bit of Toby and Nat and a lot of drama!

As Holly Smale said when I spoke to her, this book is a lot “lighter” than the others as the Harriet is still only young. But she is still the fun, geeky Harriet we all know and love.

The whole book is set mainly around the school putting on a highly modified version of Hamlet. For one, I found it hilarious as a Shakespeare fan that Nat was cast as Yorick. Harriet an I were laughing together for a little bit at that point.

However, I was so glad that Holly Smale used the book to also explain a brief outline of the plot, and in a way Harriet telling Nat about Hamlet was a way for Holly to tell younger readers about Hamlet without bombarding them with the whole of the Shakespearean language.

This book is out especially for world book day at only £1 paperback and 59p on kindle. I know it may sound like it is just for younger readers but I would encourage anybody to read this series as it is highly relate-able.

Well done Holly Smale!

If you have read this series or think you are planning to then let me know in the comments below. I would love to hear your favourite parts.

cropped-cropped-cropped-cropped-cropped-vdfjhbj.jpg

 

One thought on “Geek Drama (A Geek Girl Novella) by Holly Smale

Leave a Reply

