Book Reviews

A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E Schwab


A Darker Shade final for Irene

Title: A Darker Shade of Magic

Author: V. E. Schwab

My Rating So Far: ****

Goodreads:  Kell is one of the last Travelers—rare magicians who choose a parallel universe to visit.

Grey London is dirty, boring, lacks magic, ruled by mad King George. Red London is where life and magic are revered, and the Maresh Dynasty presides over a flourishing empire. White London is ruled by whoever has murdered their way to the throne. People fight to control magic, and the magic fights back, draining the city to its very bones. Once there was Black London – but no one speaks of that now. Read more…

Buy on Amazon


I was given a preview of this book to review ready for the hardback release this week. As this was only a preview of the book I was only able to read up to part five therefore this review is my thoughts of the book so far.

A Darker Shade of Magic follows the story of Kell who can travel between the different Londons. Ones with magic, ones without magic and ones with dark magic.

V.E Schwab writes in a way that makes you amerce yourself into her worlds. Although I only read a preview I feel like I know so much already about each London, even if they may not be too different from one another.

I have never read a fantasy novel before, or at least not one like this. The magic that flows throughout this novel intrigues me as not everybody can harness it.

It is hard to describe the book in much detail as the preview only allowed me to just get stuck into the worlds and Kell’s adventure.

But is Kell about to see himself face danger?

From what I was able to read I can say that I will definitely be purchasing the book to complete what I have started.

Let me know if you have read the book yet? Are you planning on buying the book? What were your thoughts?

cropped-cropped-cropped-cropped-vdfjhbj1.jpg

One thought on “A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E Schwab

Leave a Reply

