Book Reviews

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven


18460392

Title: All The Bright places

Author: Jennifer Niven

My Rating: ***

Goodreads: Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Buy On Amazon


I read this book with some of my friends for the bookclub that we run and at first we were all loving it. I found it to be a unique start to the story and Theodore Finch soon became a character I started to love.

But then I got half way through.After a while the book for me started to drag. I thought it was never going to end and they must have seen all of the places they had to visit for the project by now.

Violet started to irritate me as that cliché popular girl in high school who isn’t happy with herself on the inside and everything soon became predictable within the book.

The book has been scribed as Eleanor and Park meets The Fault in Our Stars which to me sounded interesting. But I admit I never really liked Eleanor and Park and when the story took a turn down that route it really disappointed me.

Once you are around 100 pages from the end it is obvious as to what is going to happen and I found myself sat there reading the book and wanting to yell at Violent to get on with it and do what she had to do.

I also found the romance in this book to be unrealistic and to be honest slightly creepy. Finch would turn from being funny and charming to weird, creepy and strange.

I still don’t know to this day if I loved or hated this book but I was definitely disappointed.

Have you read this book? What did you think? Let me know in the comments below.

cropped-cropped-cropped-cropped-vdfjhbj1.jpg

 

8 thoughts on “All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Leave a Reply

